Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade Winners

Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade Winners

Hundreds of Laredoans, out-of-town visitors and tourists once again lined up along San Bernardo Ave. and Victoria St. on Saturday, February 22 to witness the annual Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade at 9 a.m.

Over 190 float entries and parade units found inspiration in the customs and traditions of the many faces of America from various parts of the globe. Parade entries were creative and colorful and showed off all those things that make America beautiful.

“Every year the city comes out in full force to watch and enjoy the Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade. This year’s parade was no exception. Featuring incredible floats, marching bands, dancers, and many other groups from both the United States and Mexico, the parade was surely a treat for all the parade goers,” said Bobby Puig.

The winners are:

Best Overall – Best Lil Schoolhouse and Academies

Best Commercial Float – H-E-B Cart

Best Equestrian Unit – Lienzo Charro El Mayoral

Best Marching/Walking Unit – Diana Rendon’s Dance Academy

Best Merit Award – Best Lil Schoolhouse and Academies

Best International – Colegio Bilingue Salvador Novo

Best High School Military – Martin High School JROTC

Best High School Dance – United High School Larriettes

Best High School Band – United High School Band

Best High School Cheer – Alexander High School Cheerleaders

Best School Float – DD Hachar Elementary School

President’s Award – Vidal M. Treviño School of Communications & Fine Arts


The crowd voted John B. Alexander High School Band for the Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade People’s Choice Award. This was created as a bonus category where spectators and television viewers voted for their favorite entry via the WBCA App.

The 2020 WBCA Ambassadors who rode on the floats were:  Mr. South Texas  Award Honoree Her Excellency Martha Barcena, the Abrazo Children, as well as George and Martha Washington, young debutantes of the Society of Martha Washington and their escorts.  As is the tradition, Mayor Pete Saenz handed the key to the City to Princess Pocahontas in front of the WBCA Grand Stand.

Anheuser-Busch proudly sponsors the Washington’s Birthday Parade.

“Many things have changed in the past 27 years,” said Steve LaMantia.  “One thing that hasn’t changed is L&F’s commitment to WBCA and to the community.  WBCA has the unique distinction of being an on-going non-profit entity for 123 years, serving a very diverse community in celebration of not only George Washington but of Laredo, itself!”

The Sisters of Mercy, served as the 2020 Parade Marshal for the Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade.

The Sisters of Mercy have been serving the Laredo community for over 125 years. Today, the Sisters of Mercy run Mercy Ministries of Laredo. This community outreach ministry includes a primary care clinic, domestic violence shelter and education center. Community outreach workers – known in Spanish as “promotoras” – bring follow-up care to the community’s poorest citizens who live along the US-Mexico border and have little or no access to transportation.

In early 1875, the Sisters of Mercy came to the South Texas town of Indianola New Orleans. Only a few months later, a severe tropical storm destroyed the town, and the Sisters were forced to relocate to Refugio, Texas.

In 1894, the motherhouse of the Sisters of Mercy of South Texas was moved from Refugio to Laredo, under the leadership of Mother Mary Clare O’Connell. Along with another Sister and a postulant, she established Laredo’s first hospital, a 12-bed facility, which Mercy managed until 2003. The Sisters also taught at many schools and established two nursing schools.

Representing the Sisters of Mercy is Sister Maria Luisa Vera and Sister Rosemary Welsh.

WBCA is proud to honor the Sisters of Mercy as the 2020 Anheuser-Busch Washington’s Birthday Parade Marshals.

For additional information, e-mail, contact the WBCA office at (956) 722-0589, or visit 1819 E. Hillside Road in Laredo, Texas.